What is the National Book Award?

This article is part of a blog series highlighting each book award to learn more about what each of them means. Check out more about this blog series and other posts included here.

What is the National Book Award? Oh, I am so glad you asked! Let me tell you! I love their mission statement right away when you click on their website

“The mission of the National Book Foundation is to celebrate the best literature published in the United States, expand its audience, and ensure that books have a prominent place in our culture.” 

  • Celebrate literature published within the U.S.
  • Expand its audience
  • Ensure that these books have a prominent place in our culture

The winners and finalists receive a medal to be placed on the cover of their book. 

Photo from nationalbook.org

There are multiple categories for receiving a National Book Award including, fiction, non-fiction, poetry, translated literature, and young people’s literature. The 2023 National Book Award will be announced next month! The 2022 National Book Award Fictional Writing Award was given to Tess Gunty for her book The Rabbit Hutch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *